January-March 2017 Recap

monthly recap

Since this is the first month I’m running my blog for real, I will do a recap for January-March 2017.

January: 5 books
February: 7 books
March: 7 books

I have read some very good books, some rather strange books, and some not so good books in the past three months. Here I will outline my top reads for each month as well as links to their reviews (if I posted one).


January

28588459

Still Life with Tornado by A.S. King
Genre: Magical realism
4 stars.

I read some very strange books in January. Still Life with Tornado was an easy choice, as it was easily the best book I read in January and one of the best books I’ve read in a while. It was also a strange book, but it was emotionally captivating in its strangeness, telling a heart wrenching tale of a 16-year-old girl going through an emotional breakdown as she faces realities she has managed to surpress for a long time.

Runner up: The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham


February

21853621

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Genre: Historical fiction
4.5 stars.

This was a difficult choice as I read three excellent novels right in a row in February, all touching on different, yet extremely important aspects of World War II. I agonized over them but finally chose The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah as my top choice for its poignant portrayal of the different but equal strengths of women in wartime.

Runners up: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys, Almost Autumn by Marianne Kaurin


March

thenightcircus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Genre: Fantasy, historical fiction
5 stars.

This was unfair. I read an number of good books in March, but pitting them up against The Night Circus gave no other book I read this month a chance since this is almost the best book I have ever read. And I am not exaggerating. Even A Conjuring of Light could not stand up to it, and Shades of Magic is one of my favorite fantasy trilogies. See my more comprehensive review here.

Runner up: A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab

Leave a Reply

