Monthly Recap – June

monthly recap

june

Books Read: 4
Genres Read: Historical romance, magical realism, mystery/action/horror/sci-fi/fantasy, modern drama

This was a much slower month for me reading-wise as I started a new full time job a few weeks ago and have had less time in general to read. But I did still manage to get through four books, a few less than my usual 6-7.

Top Pick: All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

allthecrookedsaints_cover

I was genuinely surprised by how good this book was. The writing, the characterization, the story, it all was enthralling and very well put together. Even standing up beside The Kite Runner by Kahled Hosseini, I still give this precedence. Not because I didn’t like The Kite Runner, I did, but I thought All the Crooked Saints was a more tightly crafted work over all. But it is also difficult to compare such completely different narratives. I give a huge thumbs up to Stiefvater for this one, and I am so glad I accidentally met her and got a signed copy of this book at Book Con.

Runner-Up: The Kite Runner by Kahled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

